### Nominated current members of the Board of Directors:

### **Gunnar Brock**

# Chairman of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since March 2010, member since March 2005. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.\*

Born 1950. M.Sc. (Econ.). Member of the Financial and Audit Committee and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee since March 2010. Member of the Nomination Board. Chairman of the Board of Mölnlycke Healthcare AB and Rolling Optics. Member of the Board of Total SA, Investor AB, Stockholm School of Economics, GreenGold Capital AB, Stena AB and Syngenta International AG. Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA). President and CEO of Atlas Copco Group 2002–2009, President of Thule International 2001–2002, President and CEO of Tetra Pak Group 1994–2000, President and CEO of Alfa Laval 1992–1994.

Owns 68 908 R shares in Stora Enso.

#### Anne Brunila

# Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2013. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1957. D.Sc. (Econ.). Chairman of the Sustainability and Ethics Committee since April 2013. Professor in Hanken School of Economics as of 2014. Chairman of the Board of Aalto University Foundation as of 13 January 2016 (previously Vice Chairman). Member of the Board of Sampo Plc, Kone Plc, Sanoma Plc, the Research Institute of the Finnish Economy ETLA and the Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA. Executive Vice President, Corporate Relations and Strategy and Member of the Management Team of Fortum 2009–2012. President and CEO of the Finnish Forest Industries Federation 2006–2009. Director General in the Finnish Ministry of Finance 2003–2005 and several positions in the Bank of Finland 1992–2000 and the European Commission 2000–2002.

Owns 12 165 R shares in Stora Enso.

### **Elisabeth Fleuriot**

# Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2013. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1956. M.Sc. (Econ.). Member of the Sustainability and Ethics Committee since April 2015. Member of the Board of Directors of Carlsberg Company. CEO of Thai Union Europe (previously MW Brands) as of 2013. Senior Vice President, Emerging Markets and Regional Vice President, France, Benelux, Russia and Turkey, in Kellogg Company 2001–2013. General Manager, Europe, in Yoplait, Sodiaal Group 1998–2001. Several management positions in Danone Group 1979–1997.

Owns 12 165 R shares in Stora Enso.

#### Hock Goh

# Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2012. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1955. B. Eng (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering. Chairman of the Board of Advent Energy Limited and MEC Resources. Member of the Board of AB SKF, Santos Australia, KS Distribution Pte Ltd, Harbour Energy and Vesuvius Plc. Operating Partner of Baird Capital Partners Asia 2005–2012. Several senior management positions in Schlumberger Limited, the leading oilfield services provider, in 1995–2005.

Owns 17 948 R shares in Stora Enso.

#### Mikael Mäkinen

### Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since March 2010. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1956. M.Sc. (Eng.). Member of the Financial and Audit Committee since April 2013. President of Marine Rolls-Royce as of 2014. President of Cargotec Marine 2012–2013. President and CEO of Cargotec Oyj 2006–2012. Deputy CEO Wärtsilä 2004–2006, Group Vice President, Ship Power, Wärtsilä 1999–2004.

Owns 24 841 R shares in Stora Enso.

#### **Richard Nilsson**

# Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2014. Independent of the company but not of its significant shareholders due to his employment at FAM AB.

Born 1970. B.Sc. (BA and Econ.). Member of the Financial and Audit Committee since April 2015. Member of the Sustainability and Ethics Committee since April 2015. Member of the Board of Directors of Boston-Power Inc. and Cellutech AB. Investment Manager at FAM AB since 2008. Pulp & paper research analyst at SEB Enskilda 2000–2008, Alfred Berg 1995–2000 and Handelsbanken 1994–1995.

Owns 10 298 R shares in Stora Enso.

#### Hans Stråberg

### Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2009. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1957. M.Sc. (Eng.). Member of the Remuneration Committee since March 2010. Chairman of the Board of Atlas Copco AB, Roxtec AB, Orchid First Holding AB, CTEK Holding AB and Nikkarit Holding AB. Member of the Board of Investor AB, N Holding AB, Mellby Gård AB, Hedson Technologies International AB and Consilio International AB. President and CEO of AB Electrolux 2002–2010. Several management positions at Electrolux in Sweden and the USA 1983–2002.

Owns 27 726 R shares in Stora Enso.

\* The Board has evaluated the independence of Gunnar Brock taking into account that he has served on the Board since 2005 for a period exceeding 10 years, and has based on its overall evaluation of independence concluded Brock to be independent of the company.

The independence is evaluated in accordance with Recommendation 10 of the Finnish Corporate Governance Code of 2015. The full recommendation can be found at cgfinland.fi. A significant shareholder according to the recommendation is a shareholder that holds at least 10% of all company shares or the votes carried by all the shares or a shareholder that has the right or the obligation to purchase the corresponding number of already issued shares.

### Proposed new member of the Board of Directors:

**Jorma Eloranta**, M.Sc. (Tech), D. Sc. (Tech)h.c., born 1951, Finnish citizen, is the Chair of the Boards of Neste, Suominen and Uponor as well as the member of the Board of Directors of Cargotec and the Vice Chair of the Board of Finnish Fair Foundation. He also acts as the Senior Advisor of Eera Ltd and as the Chair of the Board of the Directors Institute of Finland (DIF). Mr. Eloranta has extensive experience from senior executive positions in prominent global companies and would bring a strong industrial expertise and market knowledge to the Board of Directors. His previous positions include President and CEO of Metso (2004–2011), President and CEO of Kvaerner Masa-Yards (2001–2003) and President and CEO of Patria Industries Group (1997–2000) as well as Executive Vice President of Finvest Group and Jaakko Pöyry Group (1996) and President of Finvest (1985–1995). Mr. Eloranta also acts as the Chair of the Board and President of Pienelo Ltd.

Eloranta is independent of the company and of its significant shareholders.