Nominated current members of the Board of Directors:

Jorma Eloranta

Vice Chairman of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2016. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1951. M.Sc. (Tech), D. Sc. (Tech) h.c. Member of the Remuneration Committee and Shareholders' Nomination Board since April 2016. Chairman of the Board of Neste, Suominen and Uponor. Vice Chairman of the Board of Finnish Fair Foundation. Member of the Board of Cargotec. Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board in Finnish Naval Foundation. Senior Advisor of Eera Ltd. Chairman of the Board and President of Pienelo Ltd. President and CEO of Metso 2004–2011, President and CEO of Kvaerner Masa-Yards 2001–2003 and President and CEO of Patria Industries Group 1997–2000. Executive Vice President of Finvest Group and Jaakko Pöyry Group 1996 and President of Finvest 1985–1995.

Owns 150 A shares and 5 648 R shares in Stora Enso.

Anne Brunila

Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2013. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1957. D.Sc. (Econ.). Chairman of the Sustainability and Ethics Committee since April 2013. Professor in Hanken School of Economics as of 2014. Chairman of the Board of Aalto University Foundation as of 13 January 2016 (previously Vice Chairman). Member of the Board of Kone Plc and Sanoma Plc. Executive Vice President, Corporate Relations and Strategy and Member of the Management Team of Fortum 2009–2012. President and CEO of the Finnish Forest Industries Federation 2006–2009. Director General in the Finnish Ministry of Finance 2003–2005 and several positions in the Bank of Finland 1992–2000 and the European Commission 2000–2002.

Owns 15 909 R shares in Stora Enso.

Elisabeth Fleuriot

Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2013. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1956. M.Sc. (Econ.). Member of the Sustainability and Ethics Committee since April 2015. Member of the Board of Directors of Carlsberg Company. CEO of Thai Union Europe (previously MW Brands) as of 2013. Senior Vice President, Emerging Markets and Regional Vice President, France, Benelux, Russia and Turkey, in Kellogg Company 2001–2013. General Manager, Europe, in Yoplait, Sodiaal Group 1998–2001. Several management positions in Danone Group 1979–1997.

Owns 15 909 R shares in Stora Enso.

Hock Goh

Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2012. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1955. B. Eng (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering. Chairman of the Board of Advent Energy

Limited and MEC Resources. Member of the Board of AB SKF, Santos Australia, Harbour Energy and Vesuvius Plc. Operating Partner of Baird Capital Partners Asia 2005–2012. Several senior management positions in Schlumberger Limited, the leading oilfield services provider, in 1995–2005.

Owns 21 692 R shares in Stora Enso.

Mikael Mäkinen

Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since March 2010. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1956. M.Sc. (Eng.). Member of the Financial and Audit Committee since April 2013. President of Marine Rolls-Royce as of 2014. President of Cargotec Marine 2012–2013. President and CEO of Cargotec Oyj 2006–2012. Deputy CEO Wärtsilä 2004–2006, Group Vice President, Ship Power, Wärtsilä 1999–2004.

Owns 28 585 R shares in Stora Enso.

Richard Nilsson

Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2014. Independent of the company but not of its significant shareholders due to his employment at FAM AB.

Born 1970. B.Sc. (BA and Econ.). Member of the Financial and Audit Committee since April 2015 and Chairman since April 2016. Member of the Sustainability and Ethics Committee since April 2015. Member of the Board of Directors of Boston-Power Inc. and Cellutech AB. Investment Manager at FAM AB since 2008. Pulp & paper research analyst at SEB Enskilda 2000–2008, Alfred Berg 1995–2000 and Handelsbanken 1994–1995.

Owns 14 042 R shares in Stora Enso.

Hans Stråberg

Member of Stora Enso's Board of Directors since April 2009. Independent of the company and the significant shareholders.

Born 1957. M.Sc. (Eng.). Member of the Remuneration Committee since March 2010. Chairman of the Board of Atlas Copco AB, Roxtec AB, CTEK Holding AB and Nikkarit Holding AB. Vice Chairman of the Board of Orchid First Holding AB. Member of the Board of Investor AB, N Holding AB, Mellby Gård AB, Hedson Technologies International AB, Consilio International AB and Business Challenge AB. President and CEO of AB Electrolux 2002–2010. Several management positions at Electrolux in Sweden and the USA 1983–2002.

Owns 31 470 R shares in Stora Enso.

The independence is evaluated in accordance with Recommendation 10 of the Finnish Corporate Governance Code of 2015. The full recommendation can be found at cgfinland.fi. A significant shareholder according to the recommendation is a shareholder that holds at least 10% of all company shares or the votes carried by all the shares or a shareholder that has the right or the obligation to purchase the corresponding number of already issued shares.

Proposed new members of the Board of Directors:

Christiane Kuehne, LL.M., B.B.A., born 1955, Swiss/German citizen, is a seasoned senior executive with international and multicultural background and with broad experience from operative roles within the Nestlé Group both strategically and operationally between the years 1977 – 2015. Her last operative role at Nestlé was as Head of Strategic Business Unit Food with strategic responsibility for the food business of Nestlé at global level. She possesses strong international experience from both the European as well as the Asian and African market. Ms Kuehne is Board member of the UK company James Finlays Ltd. and served between 2012 – 2016 as Board member and as member of the Audit Committee of L'Oreal S.A. She also acts as Board member of the Wetter Foundation. Morges/Switzerland.

Ms Kuehne is inpendent of the Company and of its significant shareholders.

Göran Sandberg, Ph.D, born 1955¹, Swedish citizen, is professor in Plant Biology and professor at the Swedish University of Agricultural Science and the Umeå University since 1989. He also acts as executive director of the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation and the Marianne and Marcus Wallenberg Foundation. Sandberg is Board member of the Marcus Wallenberg Foundation for Promoting Scientific Research in the Forest Industry and the Wallenberg Foundations AB. His previous positions include Vice chancellor of Umeå University 2005-2010, Chairman of Umeå Plant Science Center 1996-2004, Chairman of SciLifeLab Sweden 2013-2016 as well as Board member of the Human Protein Atlas project and the Wallenberg Wood Science Center. Mr. Sandberg is elected member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Science, the Royal Swedish Academy for Agriculture and Forestry Sciences and the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences.

Mr Sandberg is independent of the Company but not of its significant shareholders due to his position as executive director of majority shareholders of FAM AB, a significant shareholder of the Company.

-

¹ 12 April 2017: incorrect reference to year of birth corrected.